An outcast princess must earn her birthright as a hero of the realm… The Hero And The Crown by Robin McKinley

YA Kindle Daily Deal

The Hero and the Crown

by Robin McKinley
4.5 stars – 505 reviews
Currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:

An outcast princess must earn her birthright as a hero of the realm—in this “utterly engrossing” Newbery Medal–winning fantasy (The New York Times).Aerin is an outcast in her own father’s court, daughter of the foreign woman who, it was rumored, was a witch, and enchanted the king to marry her.

She makes friends with her father’s lame, retired warhorse, Talat, and discovers an old, overlooked, and dangerously imprecise recipe for dragon-fire-proof ointment in a dusty corner of her father’s library. Two years, many canter circles to the left to strengthen Talat’s weak leg, and many burnt twigs (and a few fingers) secretly experimenting with the ointment recipe later, Aerin is present when someone comes from an outlying village to report a marauding dragon to the king. Aerin slips off alone to fetch her horse, her sword, and her fireproof ointment . . .

But modern dragons, while formidable opponents fully capable of killing a human being, are small and accounted vermin. There is no honor in killing dragons. The great dragons are a tale out of ancient history.

That is, until the day that the king is riding out at the head of an army. A weary man on an exhausted horse staggers into the courtyard where the king’s troop is assembled: “The Black Dragon has come . . . Maur, who has not been seen for generations, the last of the great dragons, great as a mountain. Maur has awakened.”

Kindle Kids Deal are sponsored by this week’s Kids Corner Book of The Week:

Shuffle, Repeat

by Jen Klein
4.4 stars – 43 reviews
Text-to-Speech: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:
When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.

June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.”Addictive. Fans of Deb Caletti and Sarah Dessen will enjoy this sweet romance.” —SLJ“An entertaining and even touching romance.” –Kirkus Reviews

“Wonderfully readable, this lively first-person narrative is satisfying from the first fractious car ride right down to the unabashedly happy ending. A fine romance.” —Booklist

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply