Catch a glimpse of all that’s left to learn… The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2018 (The Best American Series ®) by Sam Kean

Family Daily Deal

The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2018 (The Best American Series ®)

by Sam Kean
4.3 stars – 8 reviews
Text-to-Speech: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:
“This is one of the most exciting times in the history of science,” New York Times-bestselling author Sam Kean proclaims in his introduction to The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2018. “Things aren’t perfect by any means. But there are more scientists making more discoveries in more places about more things than ever before.” The twenty-six pieces assembled here chart the full spectrum of those discoveries. From the outer reaches of space, to the mysteries of the human mind, to the changing culture in labs and universities across the nation, we see time and again the sometimes rocky, sometimes revelatory road to understanding, and along the way catch a glimpse of all that’s left to learn.

Kindle Kids Deal are sponsored by this week’s Kids Corner Book of The Week:

Calling My Name

by Liara Tamani
4.7 stars – 26 reviews
Text-to-Speech: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:

Calling My Name is a treasure.”—Nic Stone, New York Times–bestselling author of Dear Martin

Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply