In the kingdom of Brighton, a President-turned-King offers poor teens the chance to join KEY, the King’s Education for Youth…. The Blood King by Liz Long

YA Kindle Daily Deal

The Blood King (The Brighton Duology Book 1)

by Liz Long
4.4 stars – 20 reviews
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:

From USA Today Bestselling Author Liz Long comes a new duology that “…belongs on the shelf with The Hunger Games and the Divergent Series.”

When seventeen-year-old Reina is accepted to KEY, the King’s Education for Youth, she knows she’ll have to hide her true identity, as same-sex relationships are strictly illegal under President-turned-King Magnus Brighton’s rule. What she couldn’t have anticipated was the King taking a personal interest in her, and his plan to have her marry his cruel son. When Reina discovers refusing the marriage means a punishment far worse than death, she also stumbles upon the reason King Magnus hasn’t aged in decades, and finds herself in the middle of a civil uprising.

Will she escape the King’s wicked reign or will she be lost to Brighton’s dark secrets?

In Brighton, blood means everything. Long live King Magnus.

Perfect for fans of The Darkest Minds, Divergent, and The Gender Game, The Blood King and The Golden City, the second book in the duology which comes out September 2018, will not disappoint!

Kindle Kids Deal are sponsored by this week’s Kids Corner Book of The Week:

The Year of Four: A Phoebe Pope Novel (Book 1)

by Nya Jade
4.6 stars – 65 reviews
Currently FREE for Amazon Prime Members
Text-to-Speech and Lending: Enabled
Here’s the set-up:

Enter a spy academy unlike any other where alliances shift and nothing is as it seems. The Year of Four is brimming with magic, Hollywood romance and edge-of-your-seat suspense, perfect for fans of Vampire Academy, The Mortal Instruments and Twilight. Meet your new action-adventure and romance addiction!

Four are summoned.
Two may not survive.
Only one can end the shifter blood feud.

As ancient magic returns to the shifter world, forces are unleashed to destroy the one destined to control it. Phoebe Pope prays it isn’t her.

——–

Sixteen-year-old Phoebe Pope has enrolled at the Campus Below: a spy academy for shape-shifters hidden deep beneath the grounds of a boarding school whose humans unknowingly protect it. There, thanks to a carefully planned schedule, she leads a double life: spy trainee Below and normal teenager Above.

As if two course loads, concealing a secret power she alone wields, and coping with her father’s recent death weren’t enough, Phoebe finds herself developing major feelings for actor and teen heartthrob Colten Chase, who attends the Campus Above and appears to be majoring in winning Phoebe’s heart. But when officials learn that Phoebe may be at the center of a startling prophecy, she becomes the target of shape-shifting assassins who will stop at nothing to suppress the truth.

Now Phoebe’s lessons about Shaper’s enemies and spycraft take on great importance as a menace stalks the campus, with Phoebe as its target. Meanwhile, what began as an unlikely relationship with Colten, quickly morphs into heartache when she suspects that something sinister lurks beneath this movie star’s glitter and fame. Suddenly, Phoebe’s caught in a mesh of lies, betrayals, and danger where she doesn’t know who to trust, and needs to rely on herself–and her secret power–to get to the truth and to stay alive.

Comments are closed.